Featured in this Issue


Thanks to our donors

Thanks to Our Donors

Thanks to Friends of TIJS
Generous donations from friends of the TIJS support general operations of the institute as well as a variety of programs and public events, library acquisitions, faculty research projects, and student scholarships. The future growth of the program—including expanded course offerings and graduate programs, scholars-in-residence, research support, and outreach to the community—can be assisted through endowment giving. To learn more about these opportunities, contact Jonathan Frappier at 404.727.6993 or



Donate Now

Our thanks for recent donations to TIJS go to:

Alvin & Geraldine Baileys Foundation
Miss Sarah Rebecca Blenner
Mr. James B. Freedman
Sam and Lottie Friedland Foundation
Dr. and Mrs. Paul A. Greenberger
Mr. and Mrs. Robert J. Hanyok
Mr. and Mrs. John S. Harrison
IBM Corporation
Mses. Marianna B. Kaufman and Diana M. Aleman
Rabbi Michael G. Kohn

Mr. Jonathan Mintz and Ms. Robin Kramarow
Drs. Avinoam Jacob Patt and Ivy Neustat Patt
Mr. and Mrs. Michael Stuart Plotkin
Mr. and Mrs. Harry Schwartz
Mr. and Mrs. Adam Daniel Shapiro
Mr. and Mrs. Gary W. Stein
Dr. Paul Teplis
Mr. Norman Turkish
The Rev. Franklin D. Turney
Mr. and Mrs. Steven J. Zier

The following donors have supported the Holocaust Denial on Trial (HDOT) website project with gifts to the HDOT Endowment and to HDOT operating and development activities:

Mr. and Mrs. Bert E. Brodsky
Conference on Jewish Materials Claims
Rabbi Owen Gottlieb
The Holocaust Memorial Foundation
Jewish Community Federation of San Francisco
Fern E. Lowenberg Revocable Trust

The Marcus Foundation Inc.
Microsoft Matching Gifts Program
Mr. Paul Murphy
Mr. and Ms. Jim H. Zukin
Helen & James Zukin Family Foundation

Donors to the Institute for the Study of Modern Israel and the Middle East Research Program include:

The Ackermann Foundation
Elaine & Miles Alexander Fund
Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Arbiser
Mr. and Mrs. Harold L. Arnovitz
Mr. and Mrs. Bruce D. Becker
Robert M. Beren Foundation Inc.
Mr. and Mrs. Richard J. Birdoff
Mr. and Mrs. Gary David Buchman
Mr. and Mrs. Mark E. Budnitz
Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Copans
The Honorable Yvette N. Diamond
Mr. and Mrs. Neal Drasin
Dressler's Funeral Service, LLC
Dr. and Mrs. Marshall P. Duke
eBay Foundation
Mr. and Mrs. Bruce Edelston
Mr. Payam E. Firouztala and
spcrMs. Sarah Georgeann Benator
Robert & Sara Franco Philanthropic
Frank Family Foundation Inc.
Mr. and Ms. Martin J. Friedman
Ms. Sherry Z. Frank
Mr. and Mrs. Shawn Garber
Mr. and Mrs. David L. Geller
Dr. Richard S. Gerber and
spcr Ms. Laurie A. Kleinman
Ginsberg Law Offices, P.C.
Mr. Fred Glusman
Mr. and Mrs. Edward A. Goldberg

Mr. David Ross Golder
Mr. Bernard Goldstein
Mr. and Mrs. Adrian M. Grant
Mignon and Jim Groch Fund
Mr. and Mrs. Curtis Lee Groves
Haberman Foundation
Dr. Karen M. Jaffe and
spcr Mr. Marc Benjamin Jaffe
Robert A. Klausner Esq.
Mr. and Mrs. Jay Klebanoff
Samuel Aba and Sisel Klurman
spcrFoundation Inc.
Mr. and Mrs. Jay Lenley Kooper
Mr. and Mrs. James Kornreich
Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Krakower
Mr. and Mrs. Ira Dale Kravitz
Dr. and Mrs. Jeffrey A. Kunkes
Mr. Mark J. Lichtenstein
Dr. and Mrs. Burt Liebross
The Marcus Foundation
Dr. and Mrs. Ricky Alan Mars
Dr. and Mrs. Richard K. Mautner
Drs. Jeffrey T. Meltzer and
spcr Leigh R. Meltzer
Mr. and Mrs. Marc Evan Miller
Mr. and Mrs. Malcolm N. Minsk
Mirbach Family Philanthropic Fund
Mr. and Mrs. Mark I. Murovitz
Mr. and Mrs. Allan Nelkin
Norfolk Southern Foundation
Mr. Daniel Ross Oseran

Mr. and Mrs. Robert Jay Palay
Dr. and Mrs. Jeffrey L. Pesin
Mr. and Mrs. Mark J. Phillips
Mrs. Ruth Rauzin
Mitchell & Deborah Rechler
Reitman Industries
Mr. and Mrs. Bradley D. Robbins
Dr. and Mrs. Michael S. Robinowitz
Mrs. Natalie Robinson
Mr. Charles Rosenzweig and
spcr Ms. Jodi Sydell Rosenzweig
Mr. and Mrs. David I. Schulman
Mr. and Mrs. Barry A. Schwartz
Mr. and Mrs. Jerry M. Seslowe Fund
Dr. and Mrs. Allen J. Shaw
Mr. and Ms. Seth Charles Silber
Dr. and Mrs. Leonard B. Stein
Mrs. Mathilda W. Stein
Ms. Ellen Zander Tamarkin
Mr. and Mrs. Mitchell A. Tanzman
Mr. and Mrs. Jeffrey A. Teplitzky
Ramie Tritt Family Foundation
Dr. and Mrs. Steven B. Wertheim
Mr. Alan G. Willig
Mr. and Mrs. Jay Wiston
M.B. & Edna Zale Foundation
Mr. and Mrs. L. H. Zalkow
Mr. and Mrs. Steven J. Zier
Dr. and Mrs. Kenneth P. Zuckerman
Mr. Steven J. Zuckerman



About this Publication

Norman Stillman Delivers the 17th Tenenbaum Lecture

Tenenbaum LectureThis year, the 17th-annual Tenenbaum Family Lecture has brought us full circle, back to a topic connected to the one with which we started.
Moshe Idel Bridges Jewish Mysticism and Indian Religions

Moshe IdelMoshe Idel delivers a talk, "Hindu Thought in Hebrew Words: How Indian Thought Influenced Medieval Jewish Mysticism."
TIJS Faculty Highlights

Oded BorowskiTIJS to
honor Oded Boroswki with the spring 2014 Symposium and welcomes Nicholas Block.
Graduate Student News

We celebrate the TIJS-
affiliated graduate students who have completed their programs and received their doctorates this year.
Blumenthal Awards Go to Three Students

Blumenthal AwardsThe Blumenthal award is given to Emory students (graduate and undergraduate) who submit excellent papers, written in the past year, on any topic related to Jewish studies.
Student News:
Congratulations to
TIJS Graduates

Jessica GinsbergTIJS students earn degrees, go to higher endeavors.




Fall 2013
Candler Entrance

Want to subscribe?

The Tam Institute for Jewish
Studies publishes an annual
newsletter documenting the
activities and achievements of our faculty, students, alumni, and the program as a whole.

To receive an eblast announcing
the next issue, please write to us

Back to Fall 2013

Archived issues

Fall 2012

Fall 2011

Fall 2010

Fall 2008

Fall 2007

Fall 2006





Copyright © Emory University 2013spcr-spcrAll Right Reservedspcr|spcr201 Dowman Drive, Atlanta, Georgia 30322 USA 404.727.6123