Featured in this Issue


Thanks to our donors

Thanks to Our Donors

Thanks to Friends of TIJS
Generous donations from friends of the TIJS support general operations of the Institute as well as a variety of programs and public events, library acquisitions, faculty research projects, and student scholarships. The future growth of the program – including expanded course offerings and graduate programs, scholars-in-residence, research support, and outreach to the community – can be assisted through endowment giving. To learn more about these opportunities, contact Michelle Clark at 404-727-3527 or

Give Now to TIJS


Our thanks for recent donations to TIJS go to:

Alvin & Geraldine Baileys Foundation
Miss Sarah Rebecca Blenner
Dr. and Mrs. Sidney Breibart
Ms. Suzi Brozman
Dr Patt and Associates, LLC
Mr. James B. Freedman
Donald & Celia Gilner Philanthropic Fund
Dr. and Mrs. Paul A. Greenberger
Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Manuel Gryll
Mr. and Mrs. Robert J. Hanyok
Prof. Benjamin H. Hary
IBM Corporation
Rabbi Michael G. Kohn
Mr. Jonathan Mintz and Ms. Robin Kramarow

Mr. and Mrs. Anthony Montag
Mr. Eric G. Naiman and Ms. Mindy Agin
Drs. Avinoam Jacob Patt and Ivy Neustat Patt
Reach For Excellence, Inc.
Mr. and Mrs. Allan Irwin Scher
Mr. and Mrs. Adam Daniel Shapiro
Susan B. & Stanley M. Tenenbaum Fund
Dr. Paul Teplis
Mr. Norman Turkish
The Rev. Franklin D. Turney
Miss Magenta Williams
Mr. and Mrs. Steven J. Zier

The following donors have supported the Holocaust Denial on Trial website project with gifts to the HDOT Endowment and to HDOT operating and development activities:

Jack Chester Foundation
Michael Abby Modell Foundation Trust

Mr. Ralph Mahmoud Omar

Donors to the Institute for the Study of Modern Israel and the Middle East Research Program include:

The Ackermann Foundation
Elaine & Miles Alexander Fund
Mr. and Mrs. Harold L. Arnovitz
Mr. and Mrs. Richard J. Birdoff
Bradley Robbins Fund
Mr. Joel G. Burris and Ms. Pamela R. Esterman
The Honorable Yvette N. Diamond
Energy Policy Group, LLC
Dr. Anita Story Friedmann and Mr. John H. Friedmann
Mr. David Ross Golder
Harry J. Brightman Revocable Trust
Mrs. Amy M. Klausner
Samuel Aba and Sisel Klurman Fdn. Inc.
Mr. and Mrs. Jay Lenley Kooper
Mr. Eric M. Kornblau and Ms. Stacy J. Kanter
Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Krakower
Dr. and Mrs. Jeffrey A. Kunkes
Mr. and Mrs. Stuart M. Kuntz
Mr. and Mrs. Davi Kutner

The Marcus Foundation, Inc.
Mignon and Jim Groch Fund
Mr. and Mrs. Marc Evan Miller
Mirbach Family Philanthropic Fund
Norfolk Southern Foundation
Mr. Daniel Ross Oseran
Mitchell & Deborah Rechler Foundation
Reitman Industries
Dr. and Mrs. Jahanshah S. Roofeh
Mr. Charles Rosenzweig and Ms. Jodi Sydell Rosenzweig
Mr. and Mrs. David I. Schulman
Mr. and Mrs. Steven P. Seltzer
Mr. and Mrs. Steven Arthur Shapiro
Mr. and Ms. Seth Charles Silber
Mr. and Mrs. Frank W. Spector
Mrs. Mathilda W. Stein
Mr. and Mrs. Mitchell A. Tanzman
Mr. Alan G. Willig
Mr. and Mrs. Steven J. Zier
eBay Foundation



About this Publication

Student News:
TIJS Welcomes New Graduate Fellows

Jessica GinsbergThe newest graduate fellows are Rahimjon Abdugafurov, Collin Cornell, Lisa Hoelle, and Justin Pannkuk. 
Laney Graduate School Announces Brickman-Levin fund

Tenenbaum LectureImportant to the university's healing from anti-Semitism at the dental school, the fund ensures that Jewish studies remains permanently part of the graduate curriculum. 
Annual Tenenbaum Lecture is Keynote to Borowski Symposium

Annual Tenenbaum Lecture is Keynote TO Borowski SymposiumA symposium to honor Emory's Oded Borowski was timed to coincide with the Tenenbaum Lecture— delivered this year by William G. Dever, one of Borowski's mentors.
TIJS Hosts 2014 American Jewish Historical Society Conference

TIJS Hosts 2014 American Jewish Historical Society ConferenceWith Emory serving as host, the Biennial Scholars' Conference held in June attracted 100 academics from around the world. 
TIJS Faculty Highlights

TIJS Faculty HighlightsDon Seeman is a Harvard-trained anthropologist and an accomplished textualist, studying classical Jewish legal, philosophical, and mystical texts in their original languages.
Jacob Wright's Coursera Course Brings Biblical Studies to Thousands on the Internet

Jacob Wright's Coursera Course Brings Biblical Studies to Thousands on the InternetRead a Q&A with Jacob Wright describing his first experience with a MOOC when 27,000 students registered for his course The Bible's Prehistory, Purpose, and Political Future.
Faculty News

2014 Blumenthal AwardsRead about David R. Blumenthal's honorary degree and Deborah LIpstadt's keynote at the Rwandan genocide conference, as well as welcome the TIJS visiting scholars for 2014–2015.
2014 Blumenthal Awards

2014 Blumenthal AwardsCongrats to Carrie Crawford and Katherine Howard (graduate) and Avi Dobrusin (undergraduate).
Congratulations to New PhDs

Congratulations to New PhDs With every best wish, we congratulate our new PhDs—Ira Bedzoe, Ryan Bonfiglio, Craig Perry, Nehemia Stern, and Anne Stewart—and wish them well in their careers.



Fall 2014
Candler Entrance

Want to subscribe?

The Tam Institute for Jewish
Studies publishes an annual
newsletter documenting the
activities and achievements of our faculty, students, alumni, and the program as a whole.

To receive an eblast announcing
the next issue, please write to us

Back to Fall 2014

Archived issues

Fall 2013

Fall 2012

Fall 2011

Fall 2010

Fall 2008

Fall 2007

Fall 2006





Copyright © Emory University 2014spcr-spcrAll Right Reservedspcr|spcr201 Dowman Drive, Atlanta, Georgia 30322 USA 404.727.6123

Give Now